WIN_20170514_180717

For someone who hates plotting, I know a lot of plot terms. In Julian Woolford’s How Musicals Work, I learned about the 12 plot stages–Ordinary World, Call to Adventure, Refusal of the Call, etc. Well, I don’t think plot stages with fancy names ever helped me write a novel. But one of them does provide me with a great way to describe how I’m feeling as I get ready to head to the Colorado Christian Writer’s Conference in 3 days. Preparation for the Supreme Ordeal. 

The Supreme Ordeal is the Hero’s biggest challenge so far. The Supreme Ordeal may threaten the Hero’s life and will result in some kind of transformation or rebirth. And before that, we have the Preparation for the Supreme Ordeal. Also known as the Approach to the Cave. (Scary, I know. I’ve never been so nervous about going camping up at Estes Park with my family.)

Thankfully, preparation is going well. I’ve got my business cards, pitch sheets, and synopses all printed and neatly stowed in my folder. I’ve got conference info, agent info, marked-up drafts, notebooks, and folder itself strewn in a delightful mess across my desk, along with letters, writer’s magazines, and The Writer’s Guide to Weapons (which I have been finding very helpful 🙂 ).  Okay, so I guess I’m not ready to jump up and go. But with God’s blessing, by Wednesday, I will be. And with God’s blessing the Supreme Ordeal will not threaten my life, or that of any of my characters.

Please be in prayer for me as I seek to go to my very first writer’s conference (!) with a humble heart, ears ready to listen, and a mind ready to learn new things. Your prayers mean a lot to me, guys! Some specific requests would be getting good sleep before the conference, nice weather for my family so they can swim while I sit in workshops ( 😀 ), and God’s will to be done as I present Marty’s Kid to the agents and editors I’ll meet with.

Thanks for listening! Have you ever been to a writer’s conference? If so, I’d love some advice, and if not, would you enjoy going to one? Meet me up in the Rockies, guys!

WIN_20170514_181033.JPG

(You can see the pitch sheet (sort of like a book flyer) that I will be using at the conference, here: Pitch Sheet2)

7 thoughts on “Preparation for the Supreme Ordeal

  1. HANNAH?!?! You are amazing, Girl! I am SO excited for YOU!!!! Prayers will be sent your way, and i know you will do amazing. Marty’s Kid is definitely going to succeed! Your Pitch Sheet is amazing, Friend! I wish you the best of luck at you conference! How exciting. 😉
    I’d love to meet you up in the rockies! Darn. Well, I’m rooting for you, and I know you’ll do great! ❤
    I set up a novel to write when I get older, and know more traditions of Israel , or Saudi Arabia. Who knows with me? Lol
    Your help has really kept my writing going, and your emails were VERY helpful. Don't forget your loved, Hannah. No matter what those agents say, you're an amazing writer, who I know will succeed. You've pushed yourself this far, and I know you'll go so much farther. The message your sending is very powerful. You're an amazing person. You know that? You push your writing, and I know you'll be the author I know you are. Anyway, You're a blessing, Hannah K. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you both so much! I’m happy with whatever God wants, but yeah, I’m pretty excited. 😉 Thanks for being great encouragers–your comments bring a smile to my face and give me hope!

    Like

    1. Your welcome!
      I know you’ll do amazing. I’m glad I encouraged you, Hannah. 😉
      Yes, God’s in control. Whatever he wants, it good for me as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

