My long disappearance was caused mainly by the fact that I have no updates to give you. In August I found that I had made it to the national level in the National Bible Bee, and a couple weeks later I began another novel, set in an entirely different place and time. I needed it, because I was becoming very frustrated with editing Paris of London, and feeling like I’d lost my vision for the book. At the same time, I was learning so many helpful things from Stephen James’ book Story Trumps Structure, and I was eager to put them to practice, but it was difficult trying to implement new writing/plot techniques with an already-finished manuscript. So I started a new book, Marty’s Kid, with hopes of experimenting with what I was learning. Paris waited patiently, as I memorized verses and wrote, and studied the Bible and wrote, and flew to Nationals and wrote. I finished the first draft of the new novel yesterday–45,000 words in 4 months, a little neater than last time.

I thought yesterday of James 1:2-4, rendered below in the HWV (Hannah’s Writer’s Version):

“My writers, count it all joy when you slog through many drafts, knowing this, that many drafts produce patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that your book may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.”

Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”
(Romans 5:3-5, ESV)

I guess that’s all I have for you for now! Feel free to comment, and encouragement is always welcome too! John Hall Wheelock said, “Most writers are in a state of gloom a good deal of the time; they need perpetual reassurance.” I wouldn’t say I’m a gloomy person, but I agree with him about needing reassurance! Like those days when I think, Hmm…I’m not so sure about this novel-writing thing…

 

4 thoughts on “Many Drafts Produce Patience…

  1. Keep it up, Hannah! I totally understand what you mean about feeling discouraged and I LOVE your ‘writers’ verse.’ I’ll have to remember that. And just remember that I REALLY like what I’ve read of your writing! Keep it up, God will use whatever talents you have, to whatever levels you allow Him too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am thrilled you went to Nationals! Jo March in Little Women had the same struggles. Louisa Mae Alcott, the authoress, put her feelings and struggles into her character, Jo. Little Women is one of my favorite books. Keep your chin up. “Prayer and Hard Work” can accomplish many things. I am cheering for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I sure missed you guys at Nationals this year!
      I always liked Jo too, because she reminds me of me! We just watched “An Old Fashioned Thanksgiving” which was based on another Louisa Mae Alcott story, and that was about a writer girl too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

